27th Annual Jeffrey E. Smith Editors’ Prize

The Missouri Review (1)


$5,000 Fiction |$5,000 Nonfiction $5,000 Poetry | 

DEADLINE: October 2, 2017

Winners receive publication, invitation to a reception and reading in their honor, and a cash prize.


  • Submit one piece of fiction or nonfiction up to 8,500 words or any number of poems up to 10 pages. Please double-space fiction and nonfiction entries.
  • Multiple submissions and simultaneous submissions are welcome, but you must pay a separate fee for each entry and withdraw the piece immediately if accepted elsewhere.
  • Entries must be previously unpublished.
  • Entry fee: $22
  • Each entrant receives a one-year subscription to the Missouri Review in digital format.


  • Previous winners of the Editors’ Prize and current University of Missouri students and faculty are ineligible.
  • Previous Editors’ Prize finalists are welcome to enter again.


Winners will be announced in January 2018.

Questions? E-mail contest_question@moreview.com.

Read a prizewinning story by Melissa Yancy, an essay by Peter Selgin, and a selection from poetry winners Katie Bickham, Kai Carlson-Wee, and Alexandra Teague.