Uncategorized | January 15, 2004

The editors of The Missouri Review are pleased to announce the winners of this year’s Editors’ Prize Contest for fiction and essay, along with the winner of the seventh annual Larry Levis Editors’ Prize in Poetry. In addition to publication in the upcoming spring issue, the three winners will each receive $2,000. Three finalists have also been recognized in each category and will receive cash prizes or publication.

“The main goal of The Missouri Review and especially this contest is to put a spotlight on these deserving writers and give them some extra recognition and financial support,” said Hoa Ngo, Managing Editor. Many of the winning pieces from previous years’ contests have garnered subsequent awards and been reprinted in the most well-known “best-of-the-year” anthologies.

In fiction, Valerie Laken of Ann Arbor, Michigan, is the winner for her story, “Family Planning.” Finalists are Keith Banner of Cincinnati, Ohio; Nona Caspers of San Francisco, California; and Morgan McDermott of Evanston, Illinois.

The essay winner is Timothy Bascom of Newton, Iowa, for his creative nonfiction piece, “A Vocabulary For My Senses.” Finalists in essay are Gabrielle Nabi of McCordsville, Indiana; Efrem Sigel of New Rochelle, New York; and Priscilla Turner of Renton, Washington.

In the Larry Levis Prize competition, Jude Nutter of Trinidad, California, has been named the winner. Finalists are Elton Glaser of Akron, Ohio; Luisa Igloria of Norfolk, Virginia; and Jeffrey Skinner of Louisville, Kentucky.

The editors wish to thank everyone who submitted entries for the contest. 2003 marks the thirteenth year of the Editors’ Prize contest and the seventh year of the Larry Levis Editors’ Prize in Poetry, named in memory of the renowned poet and co-founder of The Missouri Review. Our 2004 Editors’ Prize Contest deadline will be October 15, 2004.