Dispatches | September 28, 2018

Deadline: October 1st!

There are only three days left to enter the Jeffrey E. Smith Editors’ Prize Contest. Be sure to submit your entry this weekend!

Winners in each genre will receive $5000, publication in the Missouri Review, and a paid trip to a reading and reception in their honor. Along with the winners, we will also announce three runners-up as well as ten finalists in fiction, poetry, and nonfiction.

With your entry fee ($22 by mail or $25 online), you’ll receive a one-year digital subscription of TMR and a copy of Trouble in Mind: The Short Story and Conflict, a collection of our very favorite Jeffrey E. Smith Editors’ Prize-winning short stories over the past 28 years.

Poem of the Week: “The Throwing Gap” by Karen Skolfield

This week, we’re featuring our 2016 Jeffrey E. Smith Editors’ Prize Winner in Poetry, Karen Skolfield, and her poem,  “The Throwing Gap”, as our Poem of the Week. You can also click here to listen to Skolfield read “The Throwing Gap,” along with the rest of her winning poetry feature from TMR issue “Turbulent,” 40:1.

Open Access to sold-out TMR Issue 40:1, “Turbulent”

“Turbulent” is sold-out, but for a limited time, we’re releasing our digital version for your perusal via the link below. Each of our digital issues contains full texts and audio tracks of each published piece; poetry features are read by the poets themselves. This digital issue of “Turbulent” features 2016 Jeffrey E. Smith Editors’ Prize Winners Jason Brown in fiction for “Instructions to the Living from the Condition of the Dead”; Karen Skolfield in poetry; and Tyler Keevil in nonfiction for “Swarf.” The issue also features the following 2016 Jeffrey E. Smith Editors’ Prize runners-up, listed alphabetically by genre: (fiction) May-lee Chai for “The Witness”; Edward Hamlin for “A Small but Perfect Happiness”; C Pam Zhang for “And How Much of These Hills Is Gold”; (nonfiction) Robert Wrigley for “Nemerov’s Door”; (poetry) Nancy Takacs and Heather Treseler.

Click here to access the digital version of “Turbulent” for a limited time!

All Jeffrey E. Smith Editors’ Prize entrants receive a one-year digital subscription to TMR with their entry fee, which means 4 digital TMR issues delivered to you electronically. (You can also access these digital versions on our app, “The Missouri Review,” in Google Play or the iTunes store.)

Enter Here!