Jeffrey E. Smith Editors’ Prize


28th Annual Jeffrey E. Smith Editors’ Prize

$5,000 Fiction | $5,000 Nonfiction $5,000 Poetry 

EXTENDED DEADLINE: October 15, 2018

Winners receive publication, invitation to a reception and reading in their honor, and a cash prize.


  • Submit one piece of fiction or nonfiction up to 8,500 words or any number of poems up to 10 pages. Please double-space fiction and nonfiction entries.
  • Multiple submissions and simultaneous submissions are welcome, but you must pay a separate fee for each entry and withdraw the piece immediately if accepted elsewhere.
  • Entries must be previously unpublished.
  • Entry fee: $25
  • Each entrant receives a one-year subscription to the Missouri Review in digital format (normal price $24) and a paperback copy of the second title in our new imprint, Missouri Review Books, Trouble in Mind: The Short Story and Conflict, an anthology of our very favorite Editors’ Prize fiction winners and runners-up in from the past twenty-eight years (normal price $14.95).


  • Previous winners of the Editors’ Prize and current University of Missouri students and faculty are ineligible.
  • Previous Editors’ Prize finalists are welcome to enter again.


EXTENDED DEADLINE: October 15, 2018

Winners will be announced in early 2019.

Questions? E-mail


Read a prizewinning story by Melissa Yancy, an essay by Peter Selgin, and a selection from poetry winners Katie Bickham, Kai Carlson-Wee, and Alexandra Teague.